A Different Kind Of Love

Well, a serious Netflix marathon would not be complete with out one of Summer’s midnight rants. Though, it can’t really be considered a midnight rant, it’s more like a 2:00 A.M. ramble. Let’s just call it late night rambles.

I have recently reconnected with an old friend of mine and I’m struck by how many different varieties of love there are among us humans. Take this friend for instance, I have had this ongoing “crush”, on him, probably since the first time I laid eyes on him. Since that faithful day, we created a special bond. A friendship. if you haven’t caught on by now, this friend has never, and probably will never, return my romantic feelings. At first I was bothered by this; I resented hearing about his crushes, and it annoyed me when he fell head over heels for his gf’s at the time. Of course I would comfort him when the relationship came to an end, all in the hopeless hope that he would turn to me and realize he was madly in love with me…. I was an idiot and I disgust myself.

Here’s a tip: if someone wants to be with you, they will make it happen. If it doesn’t happen after three months, move on to brighter pastures because you have been left in the friend-zone.

Anyways, I lost contact with this friend because I was angry that my love wasn’t being returned. Like, all the signs were there for him, he just wasn’t driving in the right direction.

Little did I know, he had returned love, just a different kind. And because I was too proud to accept it, I lost contact with a very good person who would have been a great asset in the difficult times that followed.

The truth is, not everyone is going to be your Joseph Gordon Levitt, (I love him btw), and you’re not going to be everyone’s Scarlett Johansson, (She’s just gorgeous, I mean come on!) but if you’re lucky, they might be your Pusey Washington (OITNB), or the Thelma to your Louise.

The point is, don’t reject love.

It may not always be served the same way, but the message is the same. “WE CARE”, and in the end, that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

